West Indies name weakened squad for Twenty20s in England

Darren Sammy
West Indies captain Darren Sammy will lead his side in England for the first time

West Indies have named four uncapped players in an inexperienced squad for the two Twenty20 internationals against England at The Oval in September.

Miles Bascombe, Johnson Charles, Nkruma Bonner and Derwin Christian are all included in a 14-man party for the matches on 23 and 25 September.

Chris Gayle is left out after his row with the West Indies Cricket Board.

Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard are among several players missing because of the Champions League Twenty20.

Lendl Simmons, Adrian Barath, Darren Bravo and Ravi Rampaul have also been omitted because of their commitment to the Champions League, which takes place in India from 19 September to 9 October.

Of the uncapped players, Bascombe is a 25-year-old attacking opening batsman who has played for the West Indies A team, while Charles, 22, is a top-order batsman and wicketkeeper from the Windward Islands.

Bonner is a 22-year-old leg-spinner and middle-order batsman from Jamaica and Guyanan Christian, 28, is a lower-order batsman and wicketkeeper.

The two matches at The Oval were organised by the England and Wales Cricket Board to help fulfil a contractual agreement with the WICB and the media which collapsed following the arrest of the disgraced tycoon Sir Allen Stanford.

West Indies squad: Darren Sammy (capt), Christopher Barnwell, Miles Bascombe, Devendra Bishoo, Nkruma Bonner, Johnson Charles, Derwin Christian (wk), Fidel Edwards, Danza Hyatt, Ashley Nurse, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Krishmar Santokie, Dwayne Smith.