Kevin Pietersen to be rested for India one-day series

Kevin Pietersen
Pietersen hit a double century and a century in the Test series against India

Kevin Pietersen has been left out of the England one-day squad for the five-match series against India.

England have decided to rest the batsman following the Test series win, although he has been named in the squad for Wednesday's Twenty20 international.

Durham all-rounder Ben Stokes, , has been named in both squads.

The Twenty20 squad also includes Nottinghamshire batsman Alex Hales and Somerset's Jos Buttler.

The one-day series kicks off at the Riverside on 3 September, preceded by the T20 game at Old Trafford on Wednesday.

Miller said: "We're very excited to have included some bright young players in the form of Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler and Alex Hales, all of whom have proved themselves domestically and will now be looking to successfully take the step up to international level.

"The decision to omit Kevin Pietersen from the one-day squad is in line with our policy of sensibly managing player workloads and will give the opportunity to another batsmen to test himself batting at number four."

The selection of Stokes, who is currently not bowling because of a finger injury, is bad news for fellow all-rounder Luke Wright, who has paid the price for a sequence of moderate displays.

Hales has been on the England radar this season after a series of promising displays.

Big-hitting wicketkeeper-batsman Buttler, 20, is unlikely to keep following the impressive form of fellow Somerset team-mate Craig Kieswetter, which has helped Somerset book their spot at Saturday's domestic Twenty20 finals day.

Alastair Cook will return at the top of the one-day order and reclaim the captaincy from Eoin Morgan, who led the side against Ireland, while Stuart Broad will skipper the Twenty20 side for the second time in Manchester.

England in a one-day series earlier this summer, but suffered a game.

Ian Bell, Michael Lumb, Chris Woakes and Wright are omitted from that T20 squad, while, along with Pietersen, Woakes is the only other man left out of the squad which beat Sri Lanka in the 50-over format.

England one-day international squad to play India in the NatWest Series:

Alastair Cook (Essex, captain), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire).

England Twenty20 squad to play India at Old Trafford on August 31:

Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire, captain), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Kevin Pietersen (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire).

Top Stories