York win league title for a record fifth time in a row

Nick Kay
Nick Kay removed both of Rotherham's opening batsmen to help clinch the YPL title

York have won the Yorkshire Premier League title for a record fifth time in a row and with a match to spare.

York's six-wicket win at title rivals Rotherham on Saturday ensured their continued dominance of the league.

Secretary and all-rounder Nick Kay told BBC Radio York: "It was ours to lose, but to wrap it up by beating Rotherham was incredibly satisfying.

"We've only lost three games in the league all summer. I think we deserved to be the champions again."

York tied their opening game at Driffield but quickly established an early lead at the top of the table.

"It's usually one of our faults that we take a bit of time to get going but we established a good lead by about halfway," he added.

"We had a shaky August where we lost to the Yorkshire Academy and Castleford, but we took maximum points from our last two games.

"Fair play to Rotherham who ran us really close all season, they kept picking up eight-point victories."

Both Cleethorpes and Rotherham threatened York during the season, only for York to beat both sides just as their challenges mounted.

"I think that's been the same all through the five years we've won the league," Kay added.

"We've come up against the teams who are close to us and we tend to get the right result.

"When it comes to the pressure cricket matches we've stood up this year, last year, and hopefully we'll stand up again next year.

Top Stories