Truro win the Cornwall Premier League


Truro won their first Cornwall Premier League title for nine years after beating relegated Newquay by 250 runs.

Truro hit a massive 320 for 6 off 51 overs as Tim Marrion (110) and Joe Dale (89) put on 212 for the first wicket.

Tom Eggans 3-63 was the only highlight for Newquay as they were bowled out for just 70 in reply, with only two batsmen making double figures.

Alex Taylor took six wickets while Kyle Van Rooyen took the other four as Newquay were bowled out in 27.5 overs.

"It has been really tight all year," Truro skipper Tom Sharp told BBC Radio Cornwall.

"We've managed to win three or four really tight games and last week's win was crucial as it gave us a bit of breathing space today," he added.

Werrington finished the season in second place despite their match with Troon being abandoned due to rain.

Last season's champions Paul finished third after their game with fourth-placed Callington was also called off, while St Just finished fifth as their game with Falmouth also fell victim to the weather.

St Austell finished sixth, despite losing to seventh-placed Grampound Road by 22 runs.

Top Stories