Jonathan Trott beats Alastair Cook, Tendulkar and Amla to cricket award

England batsman Jonathan Trott has been named International Cricket Council cricketer of the year.

Trott, who scored more than 1,000 runs in both Test and one-day internationals at averages of 65 and 48 respectively, beat team-mate Alastair Cook and Sachin Tendulkar and Hashim Amla to the award.

However, Cook had the consolation of being named Test player of the year.

"I never envisaged winning this award and it's a brilliant feeling to be recognised," Trott said.

Trott, like Cook, praised the rest of an England side that recently achieved the number one Test ranking for the first time under the current system and beat World Cup winners India in a one-day series. He becomes only the second England player to win the award, Andrew Flintoff having been a joint recipient with Jacques Kallis in 2005.

The 30-year-old only made his England debut in 2009 but has become an established presence at number three and averages above 50 in both Tests and one-day internationals.

"If you'd said to me two years ago that I'd have won this player-of-the-year award, I'd have asked you if you really should be out at this time," he said.

"But it's an amazing feeling. I'm really, really happy and just want to let it sink in now."

Cook beat team-mates Trott and James Anderson and South Africa's Kallis to the Test award after a year in which he hit six centuries in 18 innings including a double century against Australia in Brisbane. His 1,302 runs came despite his top score - 294 against India at Edgbaston - coming just days after the qualifying period closed on 3 August.

Earlier, Graeme Swann was the only English player to have been selected in the one-day international team of the year.

Swann, who was one of five England players named in the ICC 'dream team'external-link in August, was rewarded for 12 months in which he rose to the top of the bowling rankings in the format.

Other awards saw Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara named one-day player of the year and claim the people's choice award and New Zealand's Tim Southee take the Twenty20 performance award for taking 5-18 against Pakistan.

Essex's Netherlands international Ryan ten Doeschate was named player of the year for the associate and affiliate nations - Ireland duo Paul Stirling and Kevin O'Brien had also been in the running - and West Indies Stefanie Taylor won the women's player of the year award, with England's Charlotte Edwards and Lydia Greenway among the other nominees.

Aleem Dar picked up the umpire honour for the third time.