South Africa comeback shocks Australia in Twenty20

Second Twenty20 international, Johannesburg:
South Africa 148-7 (19.1 overs) beat Australia 147-8 (20 overs) by three wickets
Match scorecard
Rusty Theron and Wayne Parnell celebrate
Theron (left) had only previously scored six runs in international cricket

South Africa produced an astonishing comeback to beat Australia by three wickets in Johannesburg and draw the Twenty20 international series 1-1.

The Aussies had made 147-8, captain Cameron White top scoring with 39.

Teenager Pat Cummins (2-26) struck early as South Africa slumped to 84-7, needing 64 from the last 33 balls.

But tail-enders Wayne Parnell (29 from 11 balls) and Rusty Theron (30 from 16) smashed the Proteas to victory with an unbeaten eighth-wicket stand.

It was on the same ground - the New Wanderers Stadium - that South Africa completed the most sensational run chase in one-day international history in 2006, scoring a record-breaking 438-9 to overtake Australia's 434-4.

Theron, who had only scored six runs in his 10 international appearances before this game, launched the first ball of the final over, bowled by David Hussey, for a massive six over mid-wicket to seal the win in style.

His partner Parnell was able to save face after conceding 44 runs in his four overs, and admitted: "I thought if we could get it to the last over, we had a chance."

The Aussies made a shaky start as hard-hitting opener David Warner made a nine-ball duck but all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, playing alongside his brother Shaun, marked his international debut with four sixes in a rapid 36 from 21 balls, helping plunder 20 from the last over.

The tour continues at Centurion on Wednesday with the first of three one-day internationals, and Twenty20 captain White will remain with the ODI squad because of injury concerns over Shane Watson (hip) and Shaun Marsh (shoulder).

Australia have now also named a 15-man squad for the two-Test series that follows the ODIs in November.

Cummins, who has only played two Twenty20 internationals and is uncapped at Test level, is preferred to fellow paceman James Pattinson in the only change to the squad from their recent three-Test tour of Sri Lanka.

Australia Test squad for South Africa: Michael Clarke (capt), Shane Watson (vice-capt), Michael Beer, Trent Copeland, Patrick Cummins, Brad Haddin (wk), Ryan Harris, Philip Hughes, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Ricky Ponting, Peter Siddle.