George Bailey named Australia Twenty20 captain

George Bailey
Bailey will be the first player to captain Australia in his first match since 1877

Uncapped batsman George Bailey has been named Australia's Twenty20 captain after former skipper Cameron White was dropped from the squad to face India.

White will not feature in the upcoming matches after managing just 55 runs at an average of 7.85 in Australia's new domestic Twenty20 competition, the Big Bash League.

Bailey, 29, has hit 114 runs at an average of 19 in the BBL.

Brad Hogg, 40, and Brett Lee, 35, have been recalled for the two-match series.

Hogg had retired from cricket in 2008, but returned to the sport this winter to play in the inaugural BBL.

The spin-bowler, who turns 41 in February, has been in outstanding form, taking 12 wickets at an average of 13.50 for the Perth Scorchers.

Bailey has been captain of the Tasmania state side since 2009, leading them to four-day and one-day titles.

He impressed selectors with his captaincy for Australia A against New Zealand in November and replaces White, who took the role when Michael Clarke retired from the format in January last year.

National selection panel chairman John Inverarity said: "George is a very good T20 player with a sound record.

"He is widely respected and regarded as an outstanding captain, having had sustained success in this role.

"Brad Hogg's bowling has been outstanding and his case for inclusion was compelling."

Australia face India on 1 and 3 February.

Top Stories