England Performance Squad welcomes five new faces

England batsman Jonny Bairstow
Jonny Bairstow impressed in the one-day series against Pakistan last year

Five new players have been named in the 26-man 2012 England Performance Squad.

Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Ben Stokes (Durham) and Stuart Meaker (Surrey) all receive first call-ups.

National selector Geoff Miller said: "We welcome the five new players to the squad.

"Their inclusion reflects the progress they have all made with senior England teams and the England Lions over the last 12 months."

There are no places for Nottinghamshire batsman James Taylor or Warwickshire bowlers Chris Woakes and Boyd Rankin.

There is no change in any of the captaincy positions, with Andrew Strauss (Test), Alastair Cook (one-day) and Stuart Broad (Twenty20) all retained.

The EPS consists of the 13 centrally contracted players, four players with increment contracts, and nine other cricketers, all of whom have been capped at senior international level.

Middlesex's Eoin Morgan retains his central contract, despite being dropped for the two Test matches in Sri Lanka.

Although the England selectors do not have to pick players exclusively from the EPS squad, they will provide the basis of the teams picked for England's international matches in 2012.

Miller suggests that other players could be added to the squad later in the year.

"The England Performance Squad is designed to allow the selectors to monitor the development of international players and better prepare them for the demands of the international game," he said.

"We can name a total of 30 players in the EPS but have decided to only name 26 at this early stage of the season."

England host the West Indies and South Africa this summer in Test and limited-over matches, and a one-day series with Australia, before they travel to Sri Lanka for the World Twenty20 in September.

England Performance Squad 2012

Andrew Strauss (Middlesex), Alastair Cook (Essex), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Steven Davies (Surrey), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Stuart Meaker (Surrey), Graham Onions (Durham), Monty Panesar (Sussex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Kevin Pietersen (Surrey), Matt Prior (Sussex), Ben Stokes (Durham), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Chris Tremlett (Surrey), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)

Twelve-month central contracts for 2011-12

James Anderson, Ian Bell, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Steven Finn, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Andrew Strauss, Graeme Swann, Chris Tremlett and Jonathan Trott

Increment contracts for 2011-2012

Ravi Bopara, Jade Dernbach, Craig Kieswetter, Samit Patel

Top Stories