Australia players end strike dispute with Cricket Australia


Australia's players have ended a dispute with Cricket Australia [CA] by signing a new five-year agreement.

Reports earlier this month suggested players could strike over performance-related pay issues.

But a memorandum of understanding has been signed by the Australian Cricketers' Association.

The row delayed CA's announcement of their centrally-contracted players, with Test opener Ed Cowan omitted from the 17-man list.

Cowan, who has played in Australia's last seven Tests, misses out alongside Twenty20 captain George Bailey.

The 17-man list, reduced from 25 last year, is also without one-day regulars Peter Forrest, Clint McKay and Dan Christian - while paceman Brett Lee and all-rounder Steve Smith, who are in the current one-day squad touring England, have lost their central deals from last year.

"Naming just 17 players initially, with the ability to upgrade others, as and when performance warrants, ensures a tighter alignment between current performance, recognition and reward," said chairman of selectors John Inverarity.

"The list of 17 players is brim-full of talent, raw enthusiasm and determination to enhance the performance and reputation of Australian cricket."

Also losing their central contracts from last year's list are Shaun Marsh, Phillip Hughes, Usman Khawaja, Doug Bollinger, John Hastings, Callum Ferguson, Tim Paine, Jason Krejza, Nathan Hauritz and former Twenty20 captain Cameron White.

Australia central contracts: Michael Clarke, Patrick Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Ben Hilfenhaus, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Lyon, James Pattinson, Ricky Ponting, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, Shane Watson, David Warner.

Top Stories