England name unchanged one-day squad for Australia series

England captain Alastair Cook

England have named an unchanged 14-man squad for the one-day series against world number one sideexternal-link Australia.

The opening game of the five-match series takes place at Lord's on Friday.

Captain Alastair Cook's squad won their recent series against West Indies 2-0, after comfortable victories at the Rose Bowl and

National selector Geoff Miller said: "Australia are a strong one-day side and I've no doubt this will be a challenging NatWest series for us."

England's triumph over the West Indies secured a sixth consecutive home 50-over series win.

Cook and Ravi Bopara have been released to play in Essex's floodlit match against Australia at Chelmsford on Tuesday night.

Somerset's Craig Kieswetter and Middlesex pair Steven Finn and Eoin Morgan have also been released for games in Tuesday night's round of Friends Life t20 fixtures.

Miller added: "Playing against the number one ranked one-day side in the world is an excellent test for us as we look to keep steadily improving ahead of next summer's ICC Champions Trophy and the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup."

England squad: A Cook (capt), J Anderson, J Bairstow, I Bell, R Bopara, T Bresnan, S Broad, J Dernbach, S Finn, C Kieswetter, E Morgan, S Patel, G Swann, J Trott.

Top Stories