England's Alastair Cook nominated for three ICC awards

Alastair Cook

Alastair Cook is among six players nominated in three categories for the International Cricket Council awards.

England one-day captain Cook is in the running for the 2012 cricketer of the year, Test cricketer of the year and the one-day international cricketer of the year awards.

Cook's England team-mates Stuart Broad, Matt Prior and Steven Finn have also been nominated for awards.

The ceremony is scheduled for 15 September in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

Fast bowler Broad, 26, has been nominated in the cricketer of the year and Test cricketer of the year categories.

In addition, wicketkeeper Matt Prior, 30, is also in the running for Test cricketer of the year while bowler Finn, 23, has been nominated for the ODI cricketer of the year.

As well as Cook, Pakistan's Saeed Ajmal, South Africa's Hashim Amla, Australia captain Michael Clarke, Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara and West Indies women's player Stafanie Taylor have also been nominated in three categories.

It is the second successive year batsman Cook has been nominated for the cricketer of the year award, which was won by his England team-mate Jonathan Trott in 2011.

Also nominated along with Cook and Broad for the cricketer of the year's Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy are Ajmal, Amla and fellow South African Vernon Philander, Clarke, Sangakkara, India's Virat Kohli and Taylor.

England's Lydia Greenway and Sarah Taylor are in contention for the ICC women's ODI cricketer of the year award, while Taylor is also in the hunt for the Women's T20 International cricketer of the year.

The nominations are chosen by an independent selection panel of experts based on performances between 4 August 2011 and 6 August 2012 - a period which began with Cook's career-best 294 as England went to the top of the ICC world Test rankings with a series-clinching victory over India at Edgbaston.

Top Stories