Glamorgan host more 2013 Champions Trophy games

Cardiff will host the opening game of next season's Champions Trophy between holders India and South Africa on 6 June.

The Swalec Stadium's five fixtures include England's match against New Zealand and a semi-final match.

Glamorgan will host the games instead of a Test match between England and New Zealand, after swapping the fixtures with Lord's.

The event features the eight highest-ranked one day international teams.

"The opportunity to stage ICC Champions Trophy fixtures in Cardiff is an exciting one," Glamorgan Chairman Barry O'Brien said.

"This is a great time for Welsh sport, and to mark our 125th anniversary as a host venue to the best cricketers from around the globe is a real accolade for us."

Cardiff, Edgbaston and The Oval will each host five matches in the competition which will see the eight teams divided into two pools of four.

Group A will feature Australia, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka with India, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies contesting Group B.

The top two teams from each group advance to the semi-finals, hosted at The Oval and Cardiff, with the winners then progressing to the ICC Champions Trophy Final at Edgbaston on Sunday 23 June.

Champions Trophy 2013 games in Cardiff:

6 June: India v South Africa

9 June: Sri Lanka L v New Zealand

14 June: West Indies v South Africa

16 June: England v New Zealand

20 June: Semi-final

Top Stories