Cook, Prior and Broad named in ICC Test Team of the Year

Alastair Cook, Stuart Broad and Matt Prior

England captain Alastair Cook has been named in the International Cricket Council's Test Team of the Year with team-mates Matt Prior and Stuart Broad.

Essex batsman Cook, 27, was announced as England's Test match captain when Andrew Strauss retired from professional cricket on Wednesday.

Wicketkeeper Prior is named for the first time, while Cook and seamer Broad appear for the second successive year.

World number one Test team South Africa have four players in the side.

The ICC's panel picked Australia's Michael Clarke as captain of the world Test side, which was selected based on performances over 12 months from 4 August 2011.

Clarke has been nominated for the International Cricketer of the Year award, along with Hashim Amla, Vernon Philander and Kumar Sangakkara.

None of England's men's side have been listed for the individual awards, but Sarah Taylor has been nominated for both the Women's One-Day International Cricketer of the Year and Women's T20 International Cricketer of the Year.

ICC Test Team: Alastair Cook (Eng), Hashim Amla (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), Jacques Kallis (SA), Michael Clarke (Aus, capt), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI), Matt Prior (Eng, wk), Stuart Broad (Eng), Saeed Ajmal (Pkn), Vernon Philander (SA), Dale Steyn (SA). 12th Man - AB de Villiers (SA)