Sidmouth claim fourth Devon League title in five years


Sidmouth won their fourth Devon Cricket League title in five years, despite a last day defeat by Exmouth at the Maer.

They went into the game against second-placed Exmouth with a 13-point lead, which meant the title could still have gone to their rivals.

Sidmouth won the toss and made 223-4, gaining four bonus points to virtually guarantee them the title.

Exmouth knocked off the runs for the loss of six wickets, but Sidmouth had done enough and were crowned champions.

Sidmouth's total was built around half centuries from Anthony Griffiths and Devon player Josh Bess.

A century stand between Barnaby Huxtable and David Lye set up the victory for Exmouth, with Lye eventually falling three short of his century.