India v Pakistan: Zaheer Khan left out, new faces in

India's Zaheer Khan (right) with Pakistan's Yasir Arafat

India have left veteran left-arm seamer Zaheer Khan out of their forthcoming Twenty20 and one-day international series against Pakistan.

Sachin Tendulkar has retired from the 50-over format, but fellow batsman Virender Sehwag retains his ODI place.

The Twenty20 squad is largely unchanged from the recent series against England.

The first bilateral series between the two countries since 2007, comprising two T20 matches and three ODIs, begins with a T20 game on Christmas Day,

Zaheer was dropped midway through the recent Test series against England, while destructive opener Sehwag's place had also been under threat after he only averaged 23.66 from nine ODIs in 2012.

All-rounder Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who is in both squads, seamer Shami Ahmed, who is in the 50-over party, and batsman Ambati Rayudu who is in the T20 squad, are uncapped in any international format.

In other changes from India's last ODI series, against Sri Lanka in July and August, seamer Ishant Sharma, leg-spinner Amit Mishra and fit-again all-rounder Yuvraj Singh - man of the T20 series against England - return to the 50-over squad.

As well as Zaheer, injured pace bowler Umesh Yadav, all-rounder Irfan Pathan, plus spinners Pragyan Ojha and Rahul Sharma have been omitted.

Pakistan named their squads a fortnight ago, with former captains Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik left out of the ODI squad, though they remain in the Twenty20 party, and there were recalls for pace bowlers Umar Gul and Junaid Khan.

India Twenty20 squad: Mahendra Dhoni (capt & wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Parvinder Awana, Piyush Chawla, Ashok Dinda, Gautam Gambhir, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh.

India ODI squad: Mahendra Dhoni (capt & wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ashok Dinda, Gautam Gambhir, Ravindra Jadeja, Virak Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Virender Sehwag, Shami Ahmed, Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh.

Pakistan Twenty20 squad: Mohammad Hafeez (capt), Ahmed Shehzad, Asad Ali, Junaid Khan, Kamran Akmal (wk), Mohammad Irfan, Nasir Jamshed, Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Umar Amin, Umar Gul, Zulfiqar Babar.

Pakistan ODI squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Anwar Ali, Azhar Ali, Haris Sohail, Imran Farhat, Junaid Khan, Kamran Akmal (wk), Mohammad Hafeez, Nasir Jamshed, Saeed Ajmal, Umar Akmal, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz, Younus Khan, Zulfiqar Babar.