New Zealand v England: Chris Woakes replaces Tim Bresnan

Tim Bresnan
Tim Bresnan

Tim Bresnan will miss England's tour of New Zealand because of an elbow injury and has been replaced by Chris Woakes.

Bresnan will return home after the current tour of India and consult specialists regarding his right arm.

Batsmen Eoin Morgan and Samit Patel have been dropped from the Test squad which won 2-1 in India before Christmas, while Craig Kieswetter has been left out of the one-day party.

England will play three T20s, three one-day internationals and three Tests.

Woakes, 23, made his England debut against Australia in January 2011, and has played seven one-day internationals and three T20s - his last appearance coming in the second match of England's current ODI series in India.

The Warwickshire all-rounder has taken 254 first-class wickets at an average of 25, and has also scored more than 2,600 runs at 38.

"With Bresnan currently unavailable while his elbow is assessed there is a good opportunity for Woakes to gain further experience in the international environment," said national selector Geoff Miller.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Jonny Bairstow is included in all three squads after missing the one-day series in India because of family illness.

Woakes, Middlesex seamer James Harris and Yorkshire batsman Joe Root have also been added to the limited-overs squad.

However, wicketkeeper Kieswetter, who only managed 42 runs in three matches before being dropped in the current one-day series against India, has been left out.

"Kieswetter has had an extended opportunity in ODI and T20 cricket," added Miller. "He has shown evidence of delivering performances on the international stage, however we don't feel these have been delivered consistently enough.

"The door is not closed to Craig, and he can fight his way back into contention for international selection through consistent high performances with Somerset."

Nottinghamshire batsman James Taylor, 23, who played two Tests against South Africa last summer, leads the England Lions to Australia, following Root's elevation to the senior ODI squad. Stuart Meaker, Rikki Clarke and Craig Overton are additions to that squad.

England Test squad for New Zealand: Alastair Cook (capt), Nick Compton, Jonathan Trott, Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Matt Prior, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, Steven Finn, James Anderson, Monty Panesar, Graham Onions.

England Twenty20 squad for New Zealand: Stuart Broad (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Stuart Meaker, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, James Tredwell, Chris Woakes, Luke Wright.

England ODI squad for New Zealand: Alastair Cook (captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, James Harris, Eoin Morgan, Samit Patel, Joe Root, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Jonathan Trott, Chris Woakes.

England Lions squad for Australia: James Taylor (captain), Gary Ballance, Scott Borthwick, Danny Briggs, Varun Chopra, Rikki Clarke, Matthew Coles, Ben Foakes, Alex Hales, Simon Kerrigan, Stuart Meaker, Craig Overton, Toby Roland-Jones, Ben Stokes, James Taylor, Reece Topley, James Vince, Chris Wright.

Top Stories