Champions Trophy: Australia include Coulter-Nile & Marsh

Mitchell Marsh

All-rounder Mitchell Marsh, 21, and pace bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile, 25, have been included in Australia's squad for the ICC Champions Trophy in June.

Coulter-Nile is uncapped at one-day international level, while Marsh's only ODI appearance came in 2011.

Veteran Brad Haddin is omitted, leaving Matthew Wade as the only wicketkeeper in a squad led by Michael Clarke.

Pace bowlers Ryan Harris and James Pattinson are also left out to play for Australia A ahead of the Ashes.

Fellow seamers Mitchell Starc and Clint McKay are recovering from injury but have been deemed fit for selection.

"Coulter-Nile is an emerging cricketer as a fast-medium bowler and explosive lower-order batsman," said chief selector John Inverarity.

"He is also one of the finest fieldsmen in Australian cricket and the energy he brings to his game is impressive.

"While Nathan has played a Twenty20 international for Australia, we are looking forward to seeing him take his very good domestic limited-overs form on to the world stage."

The Champions Trophy, contested by the leading eight one-day nations in the world, takes place at Edgbaston, The Oval and Cardiff from 2-23 June.

Australia are in Group A alongside hosts England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka.

South Africa, West Indies, Pakistan and India make up Group B.

Australia Champions Trophy squad: Michael Clarke (capt), George Bailey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Xavier Doherty, James Faulkner, Phillip Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Clint McKay, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade (wk), David Warner, Shane Watson.

Top Stories