West Indies: Dwayne Bravo named as skipper for Champions Trophy

Dwayne Bravo


Edgbaston, The Oval, Cardiff
6-23 June
Ball-by-ball Test Match Special commentary on BBC Radio 5 live sports extra, BBC Radio 4 LW & via BBC Sport website; live text commentary on BBC Sport website, mobile devices and app

West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo has been named one-day international captain and will lead his team in June's ICC Champions Trophy in England.

Bravo replaces Darren Sammy as skipper, who will continue the role though for the Test and T20 teams.

The 29-year-old led the side when Sammy was rested for the home one-dayers against Zimbabwe earlier this year.

"To be named captain is one of the highest honours and I am truly humbled," Bravo said.

A medium-pace bowler and a hard-hitting batsman down the order, Bravo, has been a long-time vice-captain.

He added: "The brand of cricket that I intend to bring is a never-say-die attitude and I am really looking forward to the opportunity."

While Sammy kept his place in the 15-man squad for the Champions Trophy as an all-rounder, Kieran Powell was not considered due to a finger injury.

West Indies are in Group B of the June 6-23 tournament alongside India, Pakistan and South Africa.

Chairman of the selection panel, Clyde Butts, said: "Our results in Tests and T20s have been showing consistent improvement and Sammy deserves every kudos for the work he has done in leading and moulding the team in these formats.

"We remain confident in his leadership in these formats and will recommend that he continues as the captain for Test and T20 cricket.

"However, our ODI results have not been as strong and we believe that it is best that we freshen the leadership of the team in this format."

West Indies squad for ICC Champions Trophy: Dwayne Bravo (capt), Denesh Ramdin (wk), Tino Best, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy, Marlon Samuels, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Devon Smith.

Top Stories