Ashes 2013-14: Australia announce England ODI dates

Kevin Pietersen and Brad Haddin in the Australia-England ODI series in 2011

Melbourne will host the first one-day international of the limited-overs leg of England's Ashes tour of Australia this winter, on 12 January 2014.

After the Tests, the sides meet in five ODIs, with games at Brisbane, Sydney and Perth before the final match in Adelaide on 26 January - Australia Day.

There will then be Twenty20 internationals in Hobart, Melbourne and at Sydney's Stadium Australia, which was the venue for the 2000 Olympics.

The Ashes Test dates were already set.

The one-day programme is shorter than on England's last two visits. They took part in a seven-game ODI series in January and February 2011, and a triangular series also involving New Zealand in early 2007.

However, the ODIs this time will provide important preparation for England's players as Australia and New Zealand will co-host the next 50-over World Cup in February and March 2015.

England's limited-overs fixtures in Australia 2013-14:

12 January: 1st ODI, Melbourne

14 January: 50-over tour match v Prime Minister's XI, Canberra

17 January: 2nd ODI, Brisbane

19 January: 3rd ODI, Sydney (SCG)

24 January: 4th ODI, Perth

26 January: 5th ODI, Adelaide

29 January: 1st Twenty20 international, Hobart

31 January: 2nd Twenty20 international, Melbourne

2 February: 3rd Twenty20 international, Sydney (Stadium Australia)

NB Fixtures are subject to change. The BBC is not responsible for any changes that may be made.

Top Stories