Ashes 2013: England name first Test squad to face Australia

Kevin Pietersen (left) and Joe Root

First Test: England v Australia

Trent Bridge, Nottingham
10-14 July
Start time:
11:00 BST
Ball-by-ball Test Match Special commentary on BBC Radio 5 live sports extra, BBC Radio 4 Long Wave and via the BBC iPlayer Radio app, BBC Sport website & BBC Sport app. Live text commentary on BBC Sport website, app & mobile devices

England have named a 13-man squad for the first Ashes Test, which starts at Trent Bridge on 10 July.

Batsman Kevin Pietersen and spinner Graeme Swann have both been included having overcome recent injury concerns.

Opener Nick Compton's omission is confirmed, with Joe Root set to open the batting with captain Alastair Cook.

James Anderson and Stuart Broad are expected to lead the bowling attack, with Tim Bresnan, Steve Finn and Graham Onions also vying for a seamer's spot.

"This is an incredibly exciting period of cricket coming up against Australia and we know we will need to play to our full potential throughout the entire Ashes series if we are to retain the Ashes," said England selector Geoff Miller.

"We are satisfied with our preparations so far ahead of the first Test, with both Graeme Swann and Stuart Broad recovering well from the injuries they picked up earlier this week.

"The squad will continue their hard work over the next few days and will be eagerly anticipating the start of the series on Wednesday at Trent Bridge."

Anderson and Broad, who has recovered from a shoulder injury, were rested for England's recent warm-up game against Essex, in which Finn, Onions and Bresnan led the attack.

Root was elevated to the top of the order for that game, in place of Compton, who was dropped after opening with Cook in England's last nine Tests. Root's Yorkshire team-mate Jonny Bairstow is retained in the middle order alongside Ian Bell and the fit-again Pietersen.

Pietersen has not played a Test match since March when he had to pull out of the series in New Zealand with a knee injury.

Swann will be the sole spinner, despite an injury scare at Chelmsford when he was struck on the right forearm while batting, but an X-ray showed no fracture.

England hold the Ashes after winning the last series 3-1 down under in 2010-11 - their third victory in the past four series.

England squad: Alastair Cook (Essex, capt), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire), Kevin Pietersen (Surrey), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Matt Prior (Sussex, wk), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), James Anderson (Lancashire), Graham Onions (Durham).

Top Stories