Ireland to face holders India in 2015 Cricket World Cup

Dave Richardson
Dave Richardson

Ireland have been drawn in the same group as defending champions India for the 2015 Cricket World Cup.

Their other opponents in Pool B will be South Africa, Pakistan, the West Indies, Zimbabwe and a qualifier.

The Irish begin the 14-team tournament by playing the West Indies in Nelson on 16 February.

England and Australia are in Pool A with New Zealand, 1996 winners Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and two associate nations from qualifying tournaments.

The tournament starts on 14 February with the final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground - where Pakistan beat England in the 1992 final - on 29 March.

The tournament will follow the same format as the 2011 event with the top four teams from each pool progressing to the quarter-finals.

International Cricket Council (ICC) chief executive David Richardson said the World Cup "is the flagship tournament of the 50-over game".

He added: "I'm absolutely confident that the success of the Cricket World Cup 2015 will further strengthen the status of 50-over cricket as a successful and viable format alongside Tests and Twenty20 internationals."

Australia Prime Minister Kevin Rudd said: "This is one of the biggest events in world sport.

"It will attract cricket fans from around the globe and also promote Australia and our close friend New Zealand internationally - especially in India and other parts of South Asia."

Defending champions India, who beat Sri Lanka in the 2011 final, will begin their campaign against Pakistan in Adelaide on 15 February.