Minor Counties Trophy: Berkshire hammer Shropshire in final


Berkshire claimed their third MCCA Trophy in 10 years as they hammered Shropshire by 128 runs in an ultimately one-sided final at Wormsley.

Ex-Hampshire Second XI player Richard Morris proved the cornerstone of their victory, hitting 112 as Berkshire piled up 284-9 from their 50 overs.

But, after putting on 65 for the first wicket in 13 overs, Shropshire, winners in 2010, collapsed to 156 all out.

Harry Stephens took 4-16, while Euan Brock finished with 3-38.

Shropshire skipper Richard Oliver top scored with 34, one of two victims in three overs for Berkshire paceman Tom Nugent, who also removed Shropshire's other opener Ed Foster.

But it was still a second disappointment inside a month for the Midlanders, who have twice been thwarted by Berkshire in their attempt to win two trophies.

Shropshire, coached by former Yorkshire left-hander Kevin Sharp, finished third in the Minor Counties Championship, denied the Western Division title only by defeat against Berkshire in a badly rain-affected game at Whitchurch.

Berkshire's triumph follows their victories over Northumberland at Lord's in 2004, and Hertfordshire back in St John's Wood in 2011.

Top Stories