Gary Wilson targets Ireland win over England at Malahide

Gary Wilson
Gary Wilson

Gary Wilson hopes Ireland can record their first win over England on home soil when the sides meet in a one-day international at Malahide on Tuesday.

"There is always expectation when an Irish team takes to the field now. We are out to win every game we play in," said the Surrey wicketkeeper-batsman.

"We will be playing in front of the biggest crowd ever for a cricket match in Ireland so it will be a big one.

"Hopefully we can do ourselves justice and put on a show," added Wilson.

A sell-out crowd of 10,000 is expected at the venue on the outskirts of Dublin to watch an Irish side who will be without back injury victim Alex Cusack.

"The squad has had a familiar look about it over the past four or five years and we have plenty of experience in our ranks but it will be exciting to get a first look at Eddie Richardson, who I believe is an exciting prospect," said Wilson.

The 23-year-old North County and Leinster Lightning all-rounder is the one new face in the Ireland squad for the much-anticipated fixture.

Two years ago the Irish were denied the opportunity to complete their game with England at Clontarf because of a combination of poor weather and their visitors' travelling arrangements.

On this occasion, Steven Finn is the only member of the Ashes winning squad in the panel for the match, but former Ireland stars Boyd Rankin and Eoin Morgan should be involved.

"It is up to us to perform on the day regardless of what team we face," emphasised Wilson.

"Obviously I know Boyd and Eoin pretty well and I've had a few battles with Boyd in the nets, so I'm sure it will be no different on the pitch on Tuesday."

Ireland squad: William Porterfield (captain) (Warwickshire), George Dockrell (Somerset), Trent Johnston (YMCA), Ed Joyce (Sussex), John Mooney (North County), Tim Murtagh (Middlesex), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), Niall O'Brien (Leicestershire), Eddie Richardson (North County), Max Sorensen (The Hills), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Andrew White (Instonians), Gary Wilson (Surrey, wk).

England squad: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex, captain), Gary Ballance (Yorkshire), Ravi Bopora (Essex), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset, wk), Michael Carberry (Hampshire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Jamie Overton (Somerset), Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), James Taylor (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Luke Wright (Sussex).

Top Stories