England to start ICC World T20 campaign against New Zealand

West Indies
West Indies

England will begin their ICC World Twenty20 campaign against New Zealand in Bangladesh on 22 March.

Ashley Giles's side go straight into the second phase of the tournament, which takes place between 16 March and 6 April, and are also grouped with Sri Lanka, South Africa and a qualifier.

West Indies begin the defence of their title against India.

England's women open their World T20 campaign against West Indies, who beat them in Saturday's tri-series final.

In the first round of the men's tournament, Group A will feature hosts Bangladesh alongside three teams that progress from the qualifiers, which will be staged from 15 to 30 November.

Group B will include Zimbabwe, who will be joined by another three teams from the qualifiers.

The Super 10 stage will start with a match between former champions India and Pakistan in Mirpur on 21 March, while reigning champions West Indies begin their title defence against India on 23 March.

After playing New Zealand in their opening match, England take on Sri Lanka on 27 March, South Africa two days later and then the top qualifier from Group B on 31 March.

The semi-finals for men and women take place on 3 and 4 April while the finals are on Sunday, 6 April - all at the same venue in Mirpur.

Cox's Bazaar has been dropped as a venue for the competition.

Super 10 Groups:

Men's Groups:

Group 1: Sri Lanka, England, South Africa, New Zealand, Qualifier.

Group 2: West Indies, India, Pakistan, Australia, Qualifier.

Women's Groups:

Group A: Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan, Ireland.

Group B: England, West Indies, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh.