Ashes 2013-14: Australia add Alex Doolan for final Test

Alex Doolan

Australia have named uncapped Tasmania batsman Alex Doolan in their squad for the final Test with England in Sydney on Friday as they seek a 5-0 whitewash.

The 28-year-old is added as cover for Shane Watson, who injured his groin in the eight-wicket victory at Melbourne.

Bowling coach Craig McDermott said: "I fully expect we'll have the same team - or the same bowling group - in Sydney. I don't see any drama with Watto.

"It's pretty special - 4-0 with one to go - I'm looking forward to a 5-0."

Watson was able to bowl in both innings at the MCG and then smashed a quickfire unbeaten 83 on Sunday as Australia raced to their target of 231 to win their fourth successive match in the series.

"As I keep saying, you don't play Test cricket without getting sore," McDermott added.

"Watto ran between wickets pretty well. He's not the fastest mover at the best of times."

Meanwhile Doolan admitted he was surprised to receive a call from national selector John Inverarity.

"I didn't quite know what to expect when I saw John Inverarity's number pop up on my phone, I was wondering what I'd done wrong," he said.

"It's a real shock, and a real honour. It's going to be exciting, and something I will really cherish."

The Tasmanian scored 715 Sheffield Shield runs at 42.05 last summer and struck unbeaten 161 for Australia A against the touring South Africans. So far this season he has made 391 Shield runs at 39.10.

As well as monitoring the fitness of Watson, Australia will be keeping a close eye on veteran seamer Ryan Harris as he battles a chronic knee injury.

Left-armer James Faulkner, 23, who played his only Test to date against England at The Oval in August, or uncapped paceman Nathan Coulter-Nile, 26, are in contention to deputise should Harris, 34, be ruled out at the SCG.

Australia squad: Chris Rogers, David Warner, Shane Watson, Michael Clarke (c), Steven Smith, George Bailey, Alex Doolan, Brad Haddin (wk), James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Ryan Harris, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon, Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Top Stories