Women's World Twenty20 2014: Irish defeated by Pakistan

Isobel Joyce
Women's World Twenty20 Group A, Sylhet:
Pakistan 119-6 (20 overs) beat Ireland 105 (19.3 overs) by 14 runs
Match scorecard

Ireland are still without a win at the Women's World Twenty20 in Bangladesh after a 14-run defeat by Pakistan in their final group game on Monday.

Isobel Joyce and Louise McCarthy each took two wickets as Pakistan made a modest 119-6, with Bismah Maroof hitting an unbeaten 48.

Ireland were 46-1 but collapsed to 105 all out in 19.3 overs to suffer a fourth straight defeat.

They face a ninth-10th place play-off after finishing bottom of Group A.

Pakistan also came into the game seeking a first win in the tournament and elected to bat after winning the toss.

They were struggling at 22-3 before making a steady recovery and Maroof's 48 from 45 balls gave them a competitive total.

Elena Tice also claimed a wicket while McCarthy was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 2-14.

Mary Waldron fell early in Ireland's response but Claire Shillington (19) and Isobel Joyce set a solid platform with a partnership of 44.

However, the wickets started to tumble with the last eight falling for a paltry 39 runs.

Tice (17) and Eimear Richardson (13) were the only other Ireland players to get into double figures.

Asmavia Iqbal finished with 3-18 while captain Sana Mir chipped in with two wickets.

The game represented Ireland's best chance of a victory in the group after earlier defeats by New Zealand, Australia and South Africa.

In Monday's other game in Sylhet, South Africa caused a shock by beating New Zealand by five wickets to pip the White Ferns to the second semi-final place on net run rate.

Sophie Devine top scored with 40 as New Zealand made a modest 114-8.

South Africa reached their target with four balls to spare after captain Mignon du Preez was run out for 51 in the penultimate over.

Australia and South Africa qualify from Group A, with England and West Indies going through from Group B - but the make-up of the semi-finals will be determined after the final Group B games on Tuesday.

Top Stories