Scotland squad named for start of Grant Bradburn's reign

Grant Bradburn will already be assessing his squad with the 2015 World Cup in mind
Grant Bradburn will already be assessing his squad with the 2015 World Cup in mind

Scotland have named a strong squad for the three-match series against the Netherlands, which will be new head coach Grant Bradburn's first in charge.

Kyle Coetzer will captain the side for the one-day fixtures at Titwood in Glasgow on 1, 2 and 4 July.

Glamorgan's Ruaidhri Smith and Sussex's Matt Machan are also included.

Scots and Dutch players met in the recent North Sea Pro Series and Bradburn said "strong performances" in that competition have been rewarded.

"The recently completed North Sea Pro series has provided valuable international exposure to a large group of aspiring Scottish-based players," he added.

The series will give the Scotland coaches a chance to start assessing the players ahead of the 2015 World Cup in Bradburn's homeland of New Zealand and Australia.

"My initial visit during the England game in May confirmed for me the abundance of talent and skill that we have in the extended Scotland squad," said the new man in charge.

"I sense a strong desire from the players and staff to continually improve and I look forward to arriving in Scotland with my family over the coming days and setting about building on the significant progress Cricket Scotland has made."

Scotland squad: Kyle Coetzer, Preston Mommsen, Richie Berrington, Freddie Coleman, Matthew Cross, Josh Davey, Alasdair Evans, Majid Haq, Michael Leask, Matt Machan, Calum MacLeod, Safyaan Sharif, Ruaidhri Smith, Iain Wardlaw.

Netherlands squad: Wesley Barresi, Peter Borren (c), Mudassar Bukhari, Ben Cooper, Vivian Kingma, Ahsan Malik, Paul van Meekeren, Stephan Myburgh, Michael Rippon, Thijs van Schelven, Pieter Seelaar, Michael Swart, Eric Szwarczynski.