Minor Counties: Shropshire earn first Championship win

Bridgnorth Cricket Club, Cricket Meadow

Shropshire eased to their first Minor Counties Championship win of the summer as they skittled Oxfordshire for just 54 inside two hours at Bridgnorth.

Having trailed by 39 runs on first innings when Oxfordshire declared on 323-6 on Monday, Shropshire were then bowled out second time around for 259.

But, set 221 to win at Cricket Meadow, the visitors buckled badly.

Spinner Gurman Randhawa (4-15) was well backed by Wolverhampton's Ross Aucott (3-15) and Ben Sanderson (2-19).

Having reached 37-1, once Randhawa had struck just after lunch, Oxfordshire remarkably lost their last nine wickets for just 17 runs.

Randhawa had also weighed in with a first-innings half-century (72), in support of Ryan Lockley, who hit 74 on his recall after a three-year absence.

Shropshire, playing under their third captain in as many matches, have started this season's Championship badly in the Western Division, with heavy defeats by Wales and Herefordshire.

But, following Richard Oliver's exit to Worcester and Anthony Parker's decision to stand down due to work commitments, the ship was steadied under James Ralph on his home ground.

Ralph was Shropshire's captain for the first time between 2007 and 2009. His first match was also on his home ground, Bridgnorth - and his team won that one too, against Berkshire, by three wickets.

Shropshire now face two away matches, against Cornwall at St Austell on Thursday, 17 July, before the trip to Devon at Exeter a fortnight later.

Top Stories