Alex Hales to make 50-over England debut against India

Alex Hales
Alex Hales has enjoyed a prolific season with the bat for Nottinghamshire
First one-day international: England v India
Venue: Bristol Date: Monday 25 August Start time: 10:30 BST
Coverage: Test Match Special commentary on BBC Radio 5 live sports extra, BBC Radio 4 Long Wave, via BBC Sport website & app, and BBC iPlayer Radio app; live text commentary on BBC Sport website & app

England captain Alastair Cook has confirmed Alex Hales will make his 50-over international debut in the opening match of the one-day series with India.

England start a run of almost seven months of limited-overs action ahead of February's World Cup in Australia and New Zealand at Bristol on Monday.

Cook and Hales will open the batting with Ian Bell at number three.

Ravi Shastri assumes overall control of India from head coach Duncan Fletcher after England's 3-1 Test series win.

Cook admitted Hales's inclusion would mean an established top-order batsman missing out.

"It will be hard to pick 11 - you're going to leave out a very good batter," he said.

"But that can only bode well for us as a side when you're leaving out a quality player."

Nottinghamshire opener Hales 25, averages 37.85 in 32 Twenty20 internationals for England.

He scored an individual record best of 116 not out from 64 balls against Sri Lanka in March in the World Twenty20.

Cook also said England would look to play five frontline bowlers.

England v India ODI & T20 schedule
25 August: 1st ODI, Bristol
27 August: 2nd ODI, Cardiff
30 August: 3rd ODI, Trent Bridge
2 September: 4th ODI, Edgbaston
5 September: 5th ODI, Headingley
7 September: Twenty20 international, Edgbaston

"When we looked back at the Sri Lanka series earlier in the summer [which England lost 3-2], we found it hard to take wickets in the middle period," Cook added.

"So it's unfortunate for Ravi Bopara as we're having a look at a different balance of the side.

"We've got a very unusual seven months of cricket coming up. The aim will be to get a very settled squad before the World Cup."

Monday's opener will be followed by games at Cardiff, Trent Bridge, Edgbaston and Headingley before a one-off Twenty20 international at Edgbaston.

England also face seven ODIs in Sri Lanka this year, and a triangular ODI series against India and hosts Australia shortly before the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand gets under way in February.

England's schedule before next summer
August-September 20145 ODIs & T20 v India (home)
November-December 20147 ODIs v Sri Lanka (away)
January-February 2015ODI tri-series v Australia & India (in Australia)
February-March 2015ICC World Cup (in Australia & New Zealand)
April-May 20153 Tests v West Indies (away)

India's 17-man squad includes the uncapped trio of seamer Dhawal Kulkarni, wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson and spinner Karn Sharma.

Ravi Shastri
Ex-India captain Ravi Shastri (left) is a familiar face in the game as a television pundit and commentator

But perhaps the most noticeable change from the Test series comes in their coaching staff.

Former captain and television commentator Ravi Shastri will take overall control of the team during the ODIs, with head coach Duncan Fletcher continuing in his post.

"It's good to have him here, he is overlooking operations and giving us his input from the outside," said India captain Mahendra Dhoni.

"He is a very proud Indian cricketer and at the same time someone who is really positive.

"But Duncan very much remains the boss."

England one-day squad: Alastair Cook (Essex, capt), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Gary Ballance (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire, wk), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), James Tredwell (Kent), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).

India one-day squad: Mahendra Dhoni (capt & wk), Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Stuart Binny, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Umesh Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Sanju Samson (wk), Karn Sharma.