England v India: Jason Roy & James Taylor in Twenty20 squad

Jason Roy of Surrey
Roy is the only uncapped player in England's T20 squad

England have named uncapped Surrey batsman Jason Roy in their 14-man squad for the Twenty20 international against India at Edgbaston on 7 September.

Roy, 24, was the leading T20 Blast run-scorer with 677 at an average of 48.35 and a strike rate of almost 160.

But he needed an X-ray to show his right thumb was not broken batting against New Zealand A on Sunday.

All-rounder Ravi Bopara, seamer Tim Bresnan and batsman James Taylor are also called up.

South Africa-born Roy, who played for England Lions in this summer's triangular series against Sri Lanka A and New Zealand A, made his first-class debut for Surrey in 2010.

Bopara and Bresnan have been limited-overs regulars for England in recent years, but were left out of the one-day squad currently playing India.

Uncapped in T20 internationals, Nottinghamshire's Taylor has played in two ODIs, both against Ireland, and in two Tests against South Africa in 2012, but has not featured in an England squad for a year.

However, he will not join up with the squad if Notts' One-Day Cup semi-final on Saturday 6 September is affected by the weather and goes into Sunday's reserve day.

Also in the squad is all-rounder Chris Woakes, who has been handed an incremental England contract, for which players can qualify via a points-based appearance system.

Eoin Morgan will lead the side in the absence of T20 captain Stuart Broad, who will have surgery on his right knee this week, but there is no place for batsmen Ian Bell or Michael Carberry who played in England's last T20 game against Sri Lanka in May.

India have named the same squad that is currently on duty in the one-day series.

England T20 squad: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex, capt), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire, wk), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), James Taylor (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).

India T20 squad: Mahendra Dhoni (capt & wk), Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Stuart Binny, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Umesh Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni, Sanju Samson (wk), Karn Sharma.

Top Stories