Max Sorensen ruled out of Ireland tour to Australia and New Zealand

Ireland seamer Max Sorensen
Max Sorensen suffered a wrist injury in the recent one-day series against Scotland

Max Sorensen has been ruled out of Ireland's forthcoming acclimatisation tour to Australia and New Zealand.

The Hills pace bowler suffered a wrist injury during last week's one-day international series against Scotland.

A scan revealed a fracture in his right wrist which will keep him out of action for six to eight weeks so seamer Graeme McCarter of Gloucestershire replaces him in the squad to travel Down Under.

Paul Stirling is also an injury worry as he suffers with a back problem.

Stirling will not travel with the rest of the squad next week and the Middlesex all-rounder is being referred to a specialist.

His recovery and participation in the tour will be monitored in the coming weeks, but Cricket Ireland say there is no plan to replace him in the touring party at this stage.

"It's obviously bitterly disappointing for Max (Sorensen) to miss out on the tour which is so vital to our World Cup preparations, but it gives Graeme a great chance to impress after he just missed out on the initial selection," said Cricket Ireland head coach Phil Simmons.

"Paul Stirling missed Middlesex's match at Somerset this week with a back injury which hasn't responded to treatment as well as he'd like.

"We'll know more about his prognosis when he sees the specialist, but felt it best that he recuperates in the UK before making a final decision on his involvement on the tour."

Ireland leave for their eight-match tour on Tuesday September 23 and will play two games apiece against Queensland Bulls and New South Wales Second XI in Australia, before matches in New Zealand against Northern Districts, a New Zealand XI, Canterbury and Otago.

Ireland squad: William Porterfield (capt), (Warwickshire), Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex), Peter Chase (Durham), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell (Somerset), Graeme McCarter (Gloucestershire), John Mooney (North County), Tim Murtagh (Middlesex), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), Niall O'Brien (Leicestershire), Andrew Poynter (Clontarf), Stuart Poynter (Durham), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton) , Andrew White (Instonians), Gary Wilson (Surrey), Craig Young (Bready).