Jeetan Patel: Warwickshire spinner wins 2014 MVP award

Jeetan Patel
Patel takes a wicket in Warwickshire's defeat by Durham in the One-Day Cup final

Warwickshire off-spinner Jeetan Patel has been adjudged the most valuable player for the 2014 season.

He took 107 wickets in all competitions as the Bears finished second in the Championship, reached the One-Day Cup final and won the T20 Blast.

The 34-year-old New Zealander headed the MVP standings from Kent's Darren Stevens and Jim Allenby of Glamorgan.

Most Valuable Players 2007-2014
2014: Jeetan Patel (Warwickshire)2013: Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)
2012: Peter Trego (Somerset)2011: Marcus Trescothick (Somt)
2010: Neil Carter (Warwickshire)2009: Marcus Trescothick (Somt)
2008: Martin van Jaarsveld (Kent)2007: Ottis Gibson (Durham)

Patel is the second Bears player to win (following Neil Carter four years ago) since the award was introduced in 2007.

"It's been a long, hard slog this summer but I'm ecstatic to win. It's all about doing my job," Patel told BBC WM after receiving his award from the Professional Cricketers' Association.

"When I look at the talent I was up against - guys like Darren Stevens, Jim Allenby, Tom Smith, Peter Trego and Samit Patel, who bat bowl and field well across all forms, it makes me very proud to have come out on top.

"And it caps another good year for us at Edgbaston. It's perfect for me to be here. I suit the club and they suit me."

He was the leading wicket taker in both the T20 Blast (25 in 15 matches) and the One-Day Cup (23 in 10 matches, capped by his four LBWs in the final.

Patel also took 59 wickets in 16 matches at an average of 26.32 in the County Championship as Warwickshire finished runners-up to Yorkshire - their third top two finish in four years.

How do county cricketers earn their value?
The PCA rankings reward every run scored, every wicket taken and every catch held, in all forms of the game for the 18 first-class counties.
Bonuses are awarded to those whose runs and wickets contribute to a victory for their team, and captains can earn points for their leadership.

He has also been nominated for this Wednesday the PCA player of the Year award, along with Kent all-rounder Darren Stevens and two players from county champions Yorkshire, prolific opening batsman Adam Lyth and left-arm paceman Jack Brooks.

The winner is due to be announced at a dinner in London on Wednesday night.

Top Stories