Yorkshire: Adam Lyth and Alex Lees win Cricket Writers' awards

Adam Lyth (left) and Alex Lees
Adam Lyth (left) and Alex Lees were key to Yorkshire's title success

Yorkshire opening batsmen Adam Lyth and Alex Lees have been recognised by the Cricket Writers' Club for their outstanding performances this season.

Lyth, 27, has been named Championship Player of the Year after scoring 1,489 Championship runs, including six hundreds, at an average of 67.68.

Lees, 21, was named Young Cricketer of the Year after scoring 971 Championship runs at an average of 44.13.

The prizes were awarded in London on Tuesday.

Yorkshire lifted the County Championship Division One title - winning eight matches, drawing seven and losing only one - to finish 17 points ahead of second-placed Warwickshire.

Yorkshire's Young Cricketers of the Year
1952: Fred Trueman1962: Phil Sharpe
1963: Geoff Boycott1970: Chris Old
1986: Ashley Metcalfe (joint winner)1987: Richard Blakey
1996: Chris Silverwood2007: Adil Rashid
2011: Jonny Bairstow2012: Joe Root
2014: Alex Lees

Lyth succeeds Somerset's Nick Compton and Derbyshire's Wayne Madsen to win an honour restricted to England-qualified players.

Lees follows Durham and England all-rounder Ben Stokes as the winner of an award dating back to 1950, making it one of the oldest such honours in cricket.

He is the fourth Yorkshire player in the past seven years to be named Young Cricketer of the Year, and 11th in all.

Lyth and Lees have yet to gain full representative honours for England, but history suggests they will be unlucky to remain uncapped.

Former winners of the Young Cricketer of the Year award alone have amassed more than 2,000 Test appearances between them.

Top Stories