Adam Lyth and Alex Lees: PCA awards for Yorkshire batsmen

Adam Lyth (left) and Alex Lees (right)
Adam Lyth (left) and Alex Lees were key to Yorkshire's title success

Yorkshire openers Adam Lyth and Alex Lees have been named the Professional Cricketers' Association player and young player of the year respectively.

The pair were crucial to Yorkshire's Championship title success this season, with 27-year-old Lyth scoring 1,489 Championship runs, including six centuries, at an average of 67.68.

Lees, 21, scored 971 Championship runs at an average of 44.13.

The left-handers won also the Cricket Writers' Club awards on Tuesday.

Lyth's form has earned him a place on this winter's England Performance Programme and he has been tipped for a Test call-upexternal-link next summer.

Recent PCA winners
PCA player of the yearPCA young player of the year
2013: Moeen Ali (Worcs)2013: Ben Stokes (Dur)
2012: Nick Compton (Som)2012: Joe Root (Yorks)
2011: Marcus Trescothick (Som)2011: Alex Hales (Notts)

He also hit two half-centuries in the One-Day Cup, and scored 1,900 runs in all formats this summer.

Opening partner Lees, who will join Lyth on the England training camp at the National Cricket Performance Centre in Loughborough before a three-week spell in Sri Lanka, was also productive in white-ball cricket, making 368 One-Day Cup runs at an average of 46 and 315 T20 Blast runs.

He also earned his county cap in his first full season with Jason Gillespie's side.

PCA chief executive Angus Porter said: "The list of past winners bears testament to the fact that the people best placed to judge outstanding performances are fellow professionals."

Pace bowler James Anderson was named England cricketer of the year and captain Charlotte Edwards won the England women's award.

Full list of award winners

Reg Hayter Cup for the PCA Player of the Year: Adam Lyth (Yorkshire)

John Arlott Cup for the PCA Young Player of the Year: Alex Lees (Yorkshire)

ECB Special Award: David Collier

PCA Special Merit Award: Micky Stewart

T20 Blast Player of the Year: Darren Stevens (Kent)

One-Day Cup Player of the Year: Paul Collingwood (Durham)

Sixes Award: Luke Wright (Sussex)

England MVP of the Summer: James Anderson

Team of the Year: Adam Lyth (Yorkshire), Daryl Mitchell (captain, Worcestershire), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire and England), Joe Root, Gary Ballance (both Yorkshire and England), Tom Smith (Lancashire), Darren Stevens (Kent), Jos Buttler (Lancashire and England), Jack Brooks (Yorkshire), Jeetan Patel (Warwickshire), James Anderson (Lancashire and England)

Women's Player of the Summer: Charlotte Edwards

Test Player of the Summer: James Anderson

Top Stories