ICC awards: Johnson, Mathews, Sangakkara, De Villiers nominated

Mitchell Johnson
Johnson took 37 wickets in Australia's 5-0 Ashes whitewash over England in 2013-14

Mitchell Johnson, Kumar Sangakkara and Angelo Mathews have been nominated for two of the top International Cricket Council awards.

Australia pace bowler Johnson is in contention for the cricketer and Test player of the year awards.

Sri Lanka batsman Sangakkara and captain Mathews are also up for both.

South Africa's AB de Villiers completes the cricketer of the year nominees, while Australia opener David Warner has been nominated for the Test award.

England batsman Gary Ballance and all-rounder Ben Stokes have been nominated for the emerging cricketer of the year award.

England captain Charlotte Edwards and team-mate Sarah Taylor are in line for the women's one-day international prize, although Edwards missed out on the people's choice award, which went to India bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Stuart Broad and Joe Root have been named in the Test team of the year, but no England players feature in the ODI XI.

The winners of the awards, based on performances between 26 August 2013 and 17 September 2014, will be announced on 14 November.

Australia captain Michael Clarke was named cricketer and Test player of the year in 2013.

Johnson won the award in 2009 and Sangakkara in 2012. No player has won the award twice.

International Cricket Council awards - shortlist of nominees

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC cricketer of the year: AB de Villiers (SA), Mitchell Johnson (Aus), Angelo Mathews (SL), Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

Test cricketer of the year: Johnson, Mathews, Sangakkara, David Warner (Aus)

ODI cricketer of the year: Quinton de Kock (SA), De Villiers, Virat Kohli (Ind), Dale Steyn (SA)

Women's ODI cricketer of the year: Charlotte Edwards (Eng), Mithali Raj (Ind), Sarah Taylor (Eng), Stafanie Taylor (WI)

Emerging cricketer of the year: Corey Anderson (NZ), Gary Ballance (Eng), Jimmy Neesham (NZ), Ben Stokes (Eng)

Associate and affiliate cricketer of the year: Calum MacLeod (Scot), Preston Mommsen (Scot), Mohammad Nabi (Afg), Samiullah Shenwari (Afg)

Twenty20 international performance of the year: Alex Hales (Eng) - 116 not out v Sri Lanka (World T20), Aaron Finch (Aus) - 156 v England, Rangana Herath (SL) - 3.3-2-3-5 v NZ

ICC women's T20I cricketer of the year: Edwards, Meg Lanning (Aus), Raj, Stafanie Taylor (WI)

ICC Test team of the year: Warner, Kane Williamson (NZ), Sangakkara, De Villiers, Root, Mathews (capt), Johnson, Stuart Broad (Eng), Steyn, Herath, Tim Southee (NZ). 12th man: Ross Taylor (NZ)

ICC ODI team of the year: Mohammad Hafeez (Pkn), De Kock, Kohli, George Bailey (Aus), De Villiers, MS Dhoni (Ind, capt & wk), Dwayne Bravo (WI), James Faulkner (Aus), Steyn, Mohammad Shami (Ind), Ajantha Mendis (SL). 12th man: Rohit Sharma (Ind)

Top Stories