Australia v India: Michael Clarke named in hosts' squad

Michael Clarke
Clarke is set to lead Australia on their tour of England next summer

Captain Michael Clarke has been named in the Australia squad for the first Test against India, subject to proving his fitness after a hamstring injury.

The 33-year-old batsman suffered the problem in the first one-day international against South Africa earlier this month.

Pace bowler Ryan Harris is also included for the first time since March after knee surgery.

The first of four Tests begins in Brisbane on 4 December.

The third instance of Clarke injuring his left hamstring in the space of six weeks caused him to miss the remaining four ODIs against South Africa in a series that Australia won 4-1.

Clarke, who has scored 8,297 runs in 107 Tests, will play for a Cricket Australia XI against the tourists in a two-day match beginning on 28 November if he continues to respond to daily treatment.

Ten of the 12-man squad played in every match of Australia's 5-0 Ashes whitewash last winter, with batsman Mitchell Marsh and uncapped seamer Josh Hazlewood also included.

In the absence of regular captain MS Dhoni, India will be led by batsman Virat Kohli at the Gabba.

Australia squad: Michael Clarke (captain), Chris Rogers, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin (wicketkeeper), Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle, Ryan Harris.