2015 Cricket World Cup: Alastair Cook to stay as England captain

Alastair Cook
Alastair Cook has presided over three series defeats from five completed

Alastair Cook will captain England at the 2015 Cricket World Cup, after the ECB announced a provisional 30-man squad.

Jonathan Trott is one notable absentee, while the Yorkshire pair of Jack Brooks and Adil Rashid are included.

The squad, which will be reduced to 15 for the tournament, includes Craig Kieswetter, Luke Wright, Jason Roy and James Vince.

The tournamentexternal-link takes place in Australia and New Zealand in February and March.

Cook has been under pressure recently, and England currently trail 2-1 in their seven-game ODI series against Sri Lanka.

The England captain has also overseen defeats in the two previous one-day series, to Sri Lanka and India at home.

Trott's omission from the party extends the batsman's absence from the national set-up since leaving the Ashes tour of Australia in December 2013.

England's 30-man squad for the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup:

Alastair Cook (Essex) (Capt), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Gary Ballance (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Jack Brooks (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Stephen Parry (Lancashire), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire), Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), James Taylor (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), James Vince (Hampshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Luke Wright (Sussex),

Top Stories