World Cup 2015: Ireland name unchanged squad

William Porterfield will lead the Ireland team coached by Phil Simmons
William Porterfield will lead the Ireland team coached by Phil Simmons

Ireland coach Phil Simmons has kept faith with the squad touring the United Arab Emirates for the World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The 15 players in the UAE will stay in the squad for the World Cup, which starts in February.

There is no place for experienced pace bowler Max Sorensen while other absentees include all-rounder Andrew White and batsman Andrew Poynter.

Ireland start their pool matches against West Indies on 16 February.

The Irish will prepare for the World Cup with a training camp and tri-series in Dubai against Afghanistan and Scotland.

Captain William Porterfield is one of five players who will be participating in their third World Cup, along with brothers Kevin and Niall O'Brien, Ed Joyce and John Mooney.

At the other end of the spectrum, it will be the first time at a World Cup for six of the squad with Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, Andrew McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Stuart Thompson, and Craig Young making their tournament debuts.

Ireland's Cricket World Cup Pool B fixtures
Monday, 16 FebruaryWest IndiesNelson (NZ)
Wednesday, 25 FebruaryUnited Arab EmiratesBrisbane (Aus)
Tuesday, 3 MarchSouth AfricaCanberra (Aus)
Saturday, 7 MarchZimbabweHobart (Aus)
Tuesday, 10 MarchIndiaHamilton (NZ)
Sunday, 15 MarchPakistanAdelaide (Aus)

"It's fantastic to be leading Ireland in another global tournament," said Porterfield.

"We've produced some wonderful performances over the years in World Cups, and there's no reason why we can't claim further successes in Australia and New Zealand.

"There's a great mix as always in the squad, and the younger guys coming through are all hungry which keeps the more experienced players on their toes. Competition for places has been fierce and that's got to be good for Irish cricket."

Ireland have opted not to name any replacements yet, but Simmons did reveal they had taken five bowlers with the squad to Dubai to help with their preparations.

"Max Sorensen, Graeme McCarter, Eddie Richardson, Tyrone Kane and Barry McCarthy will all bowl in the nets and will provide a great resource in our build-up," he said.

"It's our intention to have some additional players based in Australia to provide cover for the World Cup squad, and we'll finalise those arrangements in the coming weeks."

Ireland play four ODIs in the UAE, and following a short return home, depart for Australia at the end of January for a training camp and fixture against Sydney-based club Randwick Petersham.

The Irish stay in Sydney for official warm-up matches against Scotland and Bangladesh before flying to New Zealand for their World Cup opener in Hamilton.

Ireland squad for World Cup: William Porterfield (Warwickshire, captain), Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex), Peter Chase (Malahide), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell (Somerset), Ed Joyce (Sussex), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), John Mooney (North County), Tim Murtagh (Middlesex), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), Niall O'Brien (Leicestershire, wk), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Gary Wilson (Surrey, wk), Craig Young (Bready).