Cricket World Cup: Scotland reveal final 15-man squad

Scotland will be making a third World Cup appearance
Scotland will be making a third World Cup appearance in New Zealand and Australia next month

Scotland have announced a familiar final squad for the World Cup in New Zealand and Australia.

Of the 16 players in Dubai for a warm-up triangular series with Afghanistan and Ireland, uncapped Durham teenager Gavin Main is the one to miss out.

All of the squad travelled to Australia and New Zealand on an acclimatisation tour in September/October.

Preston Mommsen was confirmed as captain last month, with Kyle Coetzer in the vice-captain's role.

Scotland will face New Zealand, England, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Australia in Pool A.

The tournament will run from 14 February to 29 March 2015.

Former England one-day captain Paul Collingwood, who will aid head coach Grant Bradburn and assistant Craig Wright, has already targeted two victories in the competition.

This will be a third World Cup appearance for the Scots, who lost all of their group matches in 1999 and 2007.

Scotland's World Cup fixtures
17 FebNew Zealand, Dunedin
23 FebEngland, Christchurch
26 FebAfghanistan, Dunedin
5 MarchBangladesh, Nelson
11 MarchSri Lanka, Hobart
14 MarchAustralia, Hobart

"It is great to announce our squad for the Cricket World Cup, and it is a fantastic achievement for the players to be named in the final 15," said Bradburn.

"They have all worked hard over a long period of time, as they continue to do out here in Dubai during the current Tri Series.

"There is so much natural ability in this squad and we go to the World Cup aiming to do what no other squad has done before, and win games of cricket."

A 24-man squad was announced in December, with George Munsey, David Murphy, Ruaidhri Smith, Gordon Goudie, Andrew Umeed, Moneeb Iqbal, Craig Wallace and Mark Watt dropping out before the trip to Dubai.

Scotland World Cup squad: Preston Mommsen (captain), Kyle Coetzer (vice-captain), Richie Berrington, Frederick Coleman, Matthew Cross, Josh Davey, Alasdair Evans, Hamish Gardiner, Majid Haq, Michael Leask, Matt Machan, Calum MacLeod, Safyaan Sharif, Rob Taylor, Iain Wardlaw.

Top Stories