Sean Abbott named Australia's young cricketer of the year

Sean Abbott
Abbott did not make Australia's 15-man squad for the World Cup, which starts in February

Sean Abbott has been named Australia's young cricketer of the year, two months after bowling the delivery which led to the death of Phillip Hughes.

A ball from the 22-year-old struck Australia batsman Hughes on the neck during a domestic game in November.

Several former cricketers feared Abbott may not play again, but he has since returned to action for New South Wales.

He thanked "the Australian cricket family and wider community" after learning of his award.

Abbott also expressed gratitude for the support of his "family, close friends and team-mates, and especially girlfriend Brier".

He added he felt "privileged" to receive the Bradman award.

Steve Smith
Steve Smith polled 243 votes, beating David Warner (175) and Mitchell Johnson (126)

Steve Smith was another winner at Australia's annual cricket awards, receiving the Allan Border Medal and being named both Test and one-day player of the year.

The 25-year-old batsman is only the third player to win all three awards, following Ricky Ponting and Shane Watson.

Smith was named Test captain in place of the injured Michael Clarke during a four-match series against India at the turn of the year.

He scored hundreds in all four Tests, finishing the series with 769 runs at an average of more than 128.

Smith has also scored three hundreds and three half-centuries in one-day international cricket in the past four months, including an unbeaten 102 in his first ODI as captain against England on Friday.

All-rounder Glenn Maxwell won the Twenty20 award, while Southern Stars captain Meg Lanning won the Belinda Clark award for the best female player.

The Allan Border Medal is decided by votes cast by players, umpires and media representatives at international matches.

Top Stories