Ireland call up David Rankin for T20 opener against Scotland

David Rankin in action for the North West Warriors last month
David Rankin was named player of the season in last year's Irish Inter-Provincial T20 series

David Rankin and John Anderson have been called up for Ireland's Twenty20 series against Scotland as replacements for Paul Stirling and John Mooney.

With the three-match series starting on Thursday, Stirling is needed for Middlesex duty while Mooney misses out because of family commitments.

Bready's Rankin, 27, is a brother of England seamer Boyd Rankin.

Rankin will be in Thursday's squad but will be replaced by Andrew Balbirnie for the games on Friday and Sunday.

The three games against Scotland are taking place at Rankin's home club Bready and he said he was "surprised but delighted" to get the call.

"It's a great honour to be called up but the fact that the series is being held at Bready and with Craig (Young) involved too makes it extra special," added Rankin.

Ireland all-rounder Paul Stirling
Paul Stirling will miss the Bready games because of his Middlesex commitments

"I have been happy with my form overall but especially the T20 stats in the past couple of seasons.

"Club and Inter-Provincial cricket are equally important to me and I'm delighted to be given this chance at full International level."

Merrion all-rounder Merrion will remain in the Ireland squad for all three games after being handed his first T20 international call-up after representing his country in 13 longer-format games.

Kevin O'Brien skippers Ireland in the Scotland series with regular captain William Porterfield unavailable.

Gary Wilson and Niall O'Brien will also miss the Scotland games because of county commitments.

This week's games take place on Thursday (17:30 BST), Friday (17:30) and Sunday (14:00).

Ireland squad

Scotland T20 series (June 18, 19, and 21 at Bready CC)

Kevin O'Brien (capt) (Railway Union), John Anderson (Merrion), Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex), Alex Cusack (Clontarf), George Dockrell (Somerset), Tyrone Kane (Merrion), Andrew McBrine (Donemana), Graeme McCarter (Coleraine), Andrew Poynter (Clontarf), Stuart Poynter (Durham), David Rankin (Bready), Max Sorensen (The Hills), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Craig Young (Bready).

Top Stories