Chris Rushworth and Tom Curran claim top PCA awards

Chris Rushworth
Chris Rushworth has taken 278 first-class wickets during his career, at an average of 23.27

Chris Rushworth has been named the Professional Cricketers' Association's player of the year, while Tom Curran has won the young player award.

Paceman Rushworth, 29, took 100 wickets across all three formats for Durham, including 83 Championship wickets.

Surrey seamer Curran, 20, claimed 105 wickets in all formats and helped Surrey secure the Division Two title.

Gloucestershire's Michael Klinger was named One-Day Cup and T20 Blast player of the year.

The 35-year-old Australian scored a total of 1,185 runs during the two competitions.

Recent PCA winners
PCA player of the yearPCA young player of the year
2014: Adam Lyth (Yorkshire)2014: Alex Lees (Yorkshire)
2013: Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)2013: Ben Stokes (Durham)
2012: Nick Compton (Somerset)2012: Joe Root (Yorkshire)

South Africa-born Curran, who qualifies for England at the end of October, took two seven-wicket hauls in the Championship and on Saturday was added to the England Performance Programme squad.

Rushworth's 100 wickets came at an average of 20.61 and set a new record for Durham, surpassing Ottis Gibson's 83 wickets in a season. The Sunderland-born bowler also took home the PCA's county most valuable player (MVP) award.

"To be voted for by fellow players and your peers is a very privileged moment and one I'm very proud of," Rushworth said.

"The guys that have won it in recent years have gone on to play Test cricket so that is definitely in my sights.

"Hopefully I have another good season next year and I can put my name in the hat for Test selection."

England seamer Stuart Broad was named Test player of the summer, while pace bowler Anya Shrubsole picked up the women's player of the summer award.

Full list of award winners

Reg Hayter Cup for the PCA Player of the Year: Chris Rushworth (Durham)

Overall PCA County MVP: Chris Rushworth (Durham)

John Arlott Cup for the PCA Young Player of the Year: Tom Curran (Surrey)

Test Player of the Summer: Stuart Broad

Women's Player of the Summer: Anya Shrubsole

PCA Team of the Year: Alastair Cook (Essex and England), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire and England), Joe Root (Yorkshire and England), Sam Northeast (Kent), Luke Wright (Sussex), Ben Stokes (Durham and England), Alex Davies (Lancashire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire and England), Matt Coles (Kent), Jeetan Patel (Warwickshire), Chris Rushworth (Durham)

Sixes Award: Ross Whiteley (Worcestershire)

One-Day Cup Player of the Year Award: Michael Klinger (Gloucestershire)

T20 Blast Player of the Year Award: Michael Klinger (Gloucestershire)

PCA Special Merit Award: Jim Cumbes

ECB Special Award: Lord Morris

PCA England Masters MVP: Usman Afzaal

PCA Umpire of the Year: Michael Gough

Top Stories