England second in new ICC women's rankings system

England cricket
England won the Ashes in 2013 and retained them the following year, but Australia regained the Ashes in 2015

England are second in the world behind Australia in the International Cricket Council's first women's team rankings.

The 10-team table incorporates results from all formats of the game - one-day internationals, Twenty20 and Tests.

Australia are the ODI and T20 world champions, and beat England in this summer's multi-format Ashes series.

"These are undoubtedly exciting and historic times for women's cricket," former England captain and ICC women's committee chair Clare Connor said.

The ICC rankings will be updated at the end of each series.

ICC Women's World Rankings
Rank Team Rating
2England 124
3New Zealand 109
4India 105
5West Indies99
6South Africa92
8Sri Lanka74