Afghanistan beat Zimbabwe to win landmark ODI series

Afghanistan celebrate a wicket against Zimbabwe
Afghanistan were only admitted to the International Cricket Council in 2001
Fifth one-day international, Bulawayo:
Afghanistan 245-9 (50 overs): NA Zadran 54, Nabi 53
Zimbabwe 172 (44.1 overs): Williams 102, D Zadran 4-22, Hamza 3-41
Afghanistan won by 73 runs; win series 3-2

Afghanistan have clinched a historic one-day international series over Zimbabwe after a 73-run victory in Bulawayo saw them win 3-2.

They are the first non-Test-playing country to win a multi-game bilateral ODI series against a Test side.

Sean Williams was Zimbabwe's lone hope, hitting a defiant 102 as the hosts, needing 246 to win, made 172.

Afghanistan's first ODI win over a full member country came against Bangladesh in the Asia Cup in March 2014.

They have now beaten Zimbabwe five times in nine meetings.

Noor Ali Zadran (54) and Mohammad Nabi (53) had given Afghanistan a strong start before a mid-innings collapse meant they posted 245-9 from their 50 overs.

Then after Zimbabwe collapsed to 15-3, Williams - the only home batsman to pass 16 - kept his side in the game, reaching a maiden ODI century from 120 balls.

But he lacked support and was last out as paceman Dawlat Zadran (4-22) and left-arm spinner Amir Hamza (3-41) bowled Afghanistan to victory.

The national team was only formed in 2001 and while they are yet to shock one of the eight leading international sides, a series win over an International Cricket Council full member represents a major landmark.

Unable to play at home in war-torn Afghanistan, they were granted ODI status in 2011. The side have qualified for five major tournaments - the ICC World Twenty20 events in 2010, 2012, 2014 and 2016, and the 2015 World Cup where they beat Scotland in a thrilling game.

Afghanistan's ODI record
v Australia: Lost 2v Netherlands: Won 4, Lost 2
v Bangladesh: Won 1, Lost 1v New Zealand: Lost 1
v Canada: Won 4, Lost 1v Pakistan: Lost 2
v England: Lost 1v Scotland: Won 6, Lost 3
v Hong Kong: Won 1v Sri Lanka: Lost 2
v India: Lost 1v UAE: Won 2, Lost 3
v Ireland: Won 1, Lost 3v Zimbabwe: Won 5, Lost 4
v Kenya: Won 4, Lost 2Total: Won 28, Lost 28
ICC full members in bold

Top Stories