Alastair Cook named captain of ICC Test team of the year

Alastair Cook
Alastair Cook led England to an Ashes Test series win eight months after being dropped as one-day captain

England's Alastair Cook has been named as captain of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Test team of the year.

Cook, who led his country to a 3-1 Ashes Test win the summer, is one of three England players in the side.

Bowler Stuart Broad, who took career-best figures of 8-15 during the fourth Test against Australia in August, was also selected, as was Joe Root.

Batsman Root was named as 12th man in the ICC's one-day team of the year, with no England player making the 11.

It was the fifth time in seven years that Broad has been selected for the ICC Test team.

Both teams were chosen by a selection panel chaired by former India captain Anil Kumble.

David Warner - one of three Australia players selected - was picked to open the batting with Cook in the Test side, while his national captain Steve Smith was included in both teams.

South Africa's AB de Villiers was chosen as captain of the one-day team of the year.

ICC Test team of the year

David Warner (Australia), Alastair Cook (England, captain), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Younis Khan (Pakistan), Steven Smith (Australia), Joe Root (England), Sarfraz Ahmed (Pakistan, wicketkeeper), Stuart Broad (England), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Yasir Shah (Pakistan), Josh Hazlewood (Australia). 12th man: Ravichandran Ashwin (India).

ICC one-day team of the year

Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Hashim Amla (South Africa), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka, wicketkeeper), AB de Villiers (South Africa, captain), Steven Smith (Australia), Ross Taylor (New Zealand), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Mohammed Shami (India), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Imran Tahir (South Africa). 12th man: Joe Root (England).

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC