Women's Cricket Super League: Six successful bids announced for new T20 league

England celebrate a wicket by Anya Shrubsole (second right)
England are yet to announce how their 19 centrally contracted players will be allocated between the six teams

The six team hosts for this summer's inaugural Women's Cricket Super League have been announced.

The south will have three teams, with one based at The Oval with Surrey, who pipped a joint bid by Middlesex and the MCC for the one London spot.

There will also be a team based in the south west and another in Hampshire.

The north will have two sides, in Lancashire and Yorkshire, while the Midlands team for the Twenty20 league will be at Loughborough University.

Loughborough is also the long-term base of the England women's team.

All six hosts have been awarded hosting rights for a four-year period from 2016-2019.

The tournament will be played in a Twenty20 format this season, before adding a 50-over competition in the future.

The group stage of the 2016 competition will run from 30 July to 14 August, with the top four teams qualifying for a finals day.

Further details, including team names, will be revealed at a later date.

"This is a key day in the creation of the Women's Cricket Super League," said England & Wales Cricket Board chief executive Tom Harrison.

"The bidding process for obtaining the hosts was competitive from the outset."

There were 28 initial expressions of interest for the WCSL.

The six WCSL teams

Hampshire Cricket with partners: Berkshire Cricket Ltd, Dorset Cricket Board, Isle of Wight Cricket Board, Oxfordshire Cricket, Southampton Solent University, Sussex Cricket Ltd, Wiltshire Cricket Ltd

Lancashire County Cricket Board with partners: Lancashire County Cricket Club, Lancashire County Cricket Club Foundation

Loughborough University

South West: Somerset County Cricket Club, Gloucestershire County Cricket Club, University of Exeter

Surrey County Cricket Club

Yorkshire County Cricket Club