Australia v India: Hosts set Brisbane run-chase record in ODI

Australia's George Bailey
George Bailey led the Australia scoring with 76
Second one-day international, Brisbane:
India 308-8 (50 overs): R Sharma 124, Rahane 89, Kohli 51
Australia 309-3 (49 overs): Bailey 76*, Finch 71, S Marsh 71
Australia won by seven wickets

Australia set a new run-chase record at Brisbane to beat India by seven wickets and take a 2-0 lead in the best-of-five one-day international series.

The visitors won the toss and made 308-8 from their 50 overs at the Gabba, with opener Rohit Sharma hitting 124.

But Australia's openers Aaron Finch and Shaun Marsh put on a 145-run stand.

Captain Steve Smith (46) and George Bailey (76 not out) also played key roles for the home side as they eased towards their victory total.

Rohit's total followed the 171 not out he made in the series opener in Perth.

He became only the third batsman, after England's Graeme Hick and India's VVS Laxman, to score back-to-back ODI centuries against the Aussies in Australia.

He also became the first Indian batsman to score four ODI centuries on Australian soil, overtaking Laxman's three.

Rohit shared a second-wicket stand of 135 with Virat Kohli (51), while Ajinkya Rahane chipped in with 89 as India attempted to set Australia a testing target.

But Rohit, Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja all perished in run-outs, while their last four wickets fell for 10 runs.

Australia, missing regular opener David Warner who is on paternity leave following the birth of his second daughter on Thursday,external-link started aggressively through Finch and Marsh, who both made 71.

Smith fell for a breezy 46 from 47 balls, leaving Bailey and Glenn Maxwell to see them home with an over to spare.

The third match takes place in Melbourne on Sunday.