Australia recall Shaun Tait for Twenty20 series against India

Shaun Tait
Tait's last match for Australia was in the 2011 World Cup in India

Fast bowler Shaun Tait has been recalled by Australia after an absence of almost five years for the three-match Twenty20 series against India.

Tait, 32, last played for Australia at the World Cup in India in 2011, but has been in good form for the Hobart Hurricanes in the Big Bash League.

All-rounder Shane Watson and off-spinner Nathan Lyon have also been named in the squad for the three games.

They will seek to stake their case for the World Twenty20, starting in March.

"Shaun Tait returns on the basis that he is the quickest bowler in Australia at the moment and he offers us that explosive option,'' chairman of selectors Rod Marsh said.

"Shane Watson has earned his recall through a combination of his experience, especially in short-form cricket, the all-round package he offers and the fact he is bang in form."

Lyon joins leg-spinner Cameron Boyce and spin-bowling all-rounder Glenn Maxwell among the slow bowling options.

But former T20 skipper George Bailey and Mitchell Marsh have been omitted from the squad.

Test skipper Steve Smith and batsman David Warner will only play the opening match on 26 January, so they can prepare for the tour of New Zealand starting in February.

Australia also made two changes to their one-day squad for the remaining two matches against India after taking an unassailable 3-0 lead in the series.

Lyon has been named in place of paceman Joel Paris, with Warner recalled at the expense of Usman Khawaja after missing matches for the birth of his second child.

ODI squad: Steve Smith (capt), David Warner, George Bailey, Scott Boland, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Matthew Wade.

T20 squad: Aaron Finch (capt), Scott Boland, Cameron Boyce, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Travis Head, Nathan Lyon, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Shaun Tait, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson.

Top Stories