Ireland's Tim Murtagh returns for ICC World Twenty20

Tim Murtagh
Murtagh has reversed the decision he made last May to retire from Twenty20 cricket

Tim Murtagh will be part of the Ireland squad at next month's World Twenty20 in India after reversing his decision to retire from the shortest format of the game at international level.

Bowler Murtagh missed last year's World Cup with a foot injury.

Ireland have named an experienced 15-man squad for the biennial tournament.

John Bracewell's side have been drawn in the same group as the Netherlands, Oman and Bangladesh, with the winners qualifying for the Super 10 stage.

Captain William Porterfield is one of five players ready to embark on a fifth campaign in the competition.

The O'Brien brothers, Kevin and Niall, Paul Stirling and Gary Wilson have also competed in all four previous tournaments.

Porterfield was at the helm when Ireland first took part in the global showpiece in England in 2009 and has participated in all three subsequent events in the West Indies, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

Bracewell confident

Head coach John Bracewell is relishing the opportunity to lead Ireland at a major global event for the first time and is confident his side will acquit themselves well.

"The squad has got a real balance to it, with that blend of youth and experience that every coach likes. Ireland are now regular performers on the world stage so there's no fear or intimidation factors," said Bracewell.

"Everyone has been given a real boost by the return of Boyd Rankin, and Tim Murtagh's rethink on retirement in this format. Porty (Porterfield) has plenty of options with the ball as so many of the squad are genuine all-rounders," said the New Zealander.

"We will be well prepared for the competition, as we're currently playing Papua New Guinea, will take on the UAE later this week, and will be India for a training camp ahead of the competition.

"It's another great chance for the squad to showcase Irish cricket to a global audience, and the guys are determined to prove they belong at the top level of the sport."

The tournament will be played from 8 March to 3 April, with Ireland facing Oman in their opening match on 9 March.

Ireland squad for ICC World Twenty20

William Porterfield (Warwickshire, capt), Andrew Balbirnie (Middlesex), George Dockrell (Leinster Lightning), Andy McBrine (Donemana), Tim Murtagh (Middlesex), Kevin O'Brien (Railway Union), Niall O'Brien (Leicestershire, wk), Andrew Poynter (Clontarf), Stuart Poynter (Durham), Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire), Max Sorensen (The Hills), Paul Stirling (Middlesex), Stuart Thompson (Eglinton), Gary Wilson (Surrey, wk), Craig Young (Bready).

Top Stories