Women's World Twenty20 2016: New Zealand beat Ireland in opener

New Zealand captain Suzie Bates
Bates hit seven fours and two sixes in her innings
ICC Women's World Twenty20 Group A, Mohali:
New Zealand 177-3 (20 overs): Bates 82, Devine 47
Ireland 84-5 (20 overs): I Joyce 28, Bermingham 2-17
New Zealand won by 93 runs
Scorecard and standings

Ireland were well beaten in their first game of the Women's World Twenty20 as New Zealand triumphed in Mohali.

White Ferns captain Suzie Bates won the toss and led the way, hitting 82 from 60 balls and adding 104 with Sophie Devine (47 from 34).

The Kiwi total of 177-3 from 20 overs always looked beyond Ireland.

Captain Isobel Joyce top scored with 28, while Leigh Kasperek's four overs only cost 10 runs as the Irish made 84-5, handing New Zealand a 93-run win.

Kasperek, born in Edinburgh, appeared for Scotland against Ireland in the 2007 European Championship aged only 15, but later switched her allegiance to New Zealand and made her one-day and T20 international debuts in 2015.

"We performed poorly and it was never going to be easy chasing 178," said Joyce. "They are a very professional side and I hope our girls have learnt from them."

Meanwhile, champions Australia began their title defence with a six-wicket win over South Africa in Nagpur.

Openers Dane van Niekerk (45) and Trisha Chetty (34) shared an opening stand of 72 for South Africa before they collapsed, posting 102-6 from their 20 overs.

The Southern Stars were then reeling at 9-3, but the experienced Alex Blackwell (42 not out) and skipper Meg Lanning (30 not out from 19 balls) saw them home with nine balls to spare.

Lanning was batting down the order at number six after a spell off the field with illness, which had also prevented her from appearing for the coin toss at the start of play.

ICC Women's World Twenty20 Group A, Nagpur:
South Africa 102-6 (20 overs): Van Niekerk 45, Chetty 34, Cheatle 2-13, Perry 2-13
Australia 105-4 (18.3 overs): Blackwell 42 not out, Lanning 30 not out
Australia won by six wickets
Scorecard and standings

Top Stories